The Phenomena of Dreams

Have you ever been so exhausted that the only thing you wanted to do was sleep, just because dreams are better than reality? Honestly, same. The concept of dreaming is simply surreal. Why do we see these bizarre scenarios in our heads when we are sleeping? Shouldn’t our brains be asleep too? These questions all lead to the same main question: why do we dream?

Why Do We Dream?

There’s actually no definite answer to this question. There have been several theories put forward in an attempt to explain the reason behind why we dream, but none of them is 100% correct. One proposes that dreams work with sleep to help the brain sort through everything it collects during the day. That actually makes sense; sometimes when we face a difficult problem, we may be able to solve it once we get some sleep. While we sleep, our brain goes through all the information we absorbed and decides what’s relevant and what’s not.

Dreams typically reflect our emotions. Have you ever been really worried and stressed about something and decide to get some rest, only to dream about it during the night? That’s usually because your brain is focusing on that one thing during the day, and continues to focus on it during the night, too.

Some scientists think that dreaming doesn’t have a function and that dreams are just random meaningless images that occur because our brain is working during the night. Although there is some evidence to back up this theory, I personally think this is not the case. If there really was no purpose behind dreaming, would we spend a portion of every night doing it?

Photo Credit: nerdcoregirl Flickr via Compfight cc
Photo Credit: nerdcoregirl Flickr via Compfight cc

Interesting Facts About Dreams:

  • You forget 90% of your dreams within 10 minutes of waking up.
  • In your dreams, we only see faces we already know. It may seem that it was a complete stranger in your dream, but in fact, it’s a person that you met at some point in your life.
  • You can have four to seven dreams per night, and you spend an average of one to two hours dreaming each night.
  • Our mind takes external sounds while we are asleep, and makes them part of our dream. For example, if music is playing near you while you are sleeping, you may dream you are at a concert or party.
  • Dreams are symbolic, so it is usually difficult to interpret the real meaning behind a specific dream.
  • 4.4% of the dreams of under-25-year-olds are in black and white, while the remaining number of dreams is in full color.
  • The three most common emotions felt during dreaming are anger, anxiety, and fear. Therefore, dreams are more often negative than positive- I know, it sucks.

What are your thoughts on the function of dreams? Do you think they have a vital role, or do you think they are just meaningless images? Are you one to remember most of the dreams you had during the night?
~~Ola

 

 

17 thoughts on “The Phenomena of Dreams

  1. ashleypmurray February 27, 2017 / 4:35 pm

    Interesting post! I dream all the time and I feel like it’s my subconscious working through personal struggles, fears or desires. I also believe that like you said it helps us to get through the problems we may be trying to work on through the day. I can remember struggling with a question in math in high school and waking up to attempt the problem again and be able to solve it!

    The interesting facts you shared were fun to read. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • oladb February 28, 2017 / 12:22 am

      Hey,
      Thanks for sharing your thoughts with me. That has also happened to me more than once where I can’t seem to solve a problem, but after a good night’s sleep, I find it much easier and find a solution!

      Like

  2. mantaquachowdhury March 3, 2017 / 5:09 pm

    Really insightful post, I love anything that has to do with sleep. However recently, I haven’t really seen any interesting dreams. I don’t know if that is normal or not, but yes, one thing is for sure, when I do see dreams, they’re so rare and bizarre, I wake up confused. The fun facts about dreams were mind-blowing. I found them very interesting. Thanks for this new knowledge, and I look forward to reading more from you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • oladiarb March 3, 2017 / 5:28 pm

      I also sometimes wake up confused as to what happened in my dreams, other times confused because I’m not sure if it was real or not. Thank you for reading my blog and sharing your experience with me!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. maryumsaif March 3, 2017 / 5:22 pm

    I really enjoyed reading your blog especially because your topic was so different and interesting. I have actually heard some really strange theories about dreams. I was told once that the people in our dreams are people who our souls see when they leave our body at night. It is pretty strange but we really don’t know what is true. I liked how you added facts that were new and interesting. Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

    • oladiarb March 3, 2017 / 5:25 pm

      I haven’t heard that before, but like you said, we really don’t know what is true and what is just a simple myth. Thank you for reading my blog!

      Like

  4. arobakhan01 March 8, 2017 / 1:20 am

    The topic you picked immediately caught my attention and I was not disappointed in my decision to read. Dreams are sometimes the highlight of my day and at other times, the reason I dread going to sleep. When I want to, I can remember my dreams in detail. I actually had a question on one of the interesting facts about dreams. You mentioned that we only see faces we already know in dreams; does this mean that we know all the monsters and demons and such that we see in our nightmares?

    Liked by 1 person

    • oladb March 8, 2017 / 1:32 am

      Thank you for reading my blog. While I was researching and came across the fact that all the faces we see in our dreams are faces we know, it also said that it applied to creatures like monsters, demon, etc. Meaning, we have also seen those as some point, but we just can’t remember it. I’m not sure whether this is correct or just a theory, although it would definitely be scary if it was, in fact, true. What do you think?

      Liked by 1 person

      • arobakhan01 March 8, 2017 / 4:54 am

        Well, that’s comforting (note the sarcasm.) Though, maybe images from movies stay in our minds. I think I’ve seen celebrities in my dreams before. Thoughts?

        Liked by 1 person

      • oladb March 8, 2017 / 12:48 pm

        That does seem possible, and now that I think about it, I also have seen celebrities in my dreams before.

        Liked by 1 person

    • SundalHaqqani March 8, 2017 / 6:43 am

      Sorry if I’m late but I actually heard that all the people we see in our dreams are people who we saw in real life, even if it was looking at a stranger at the grocery store for half a second. And the monsters and demons only exist in your world Aroba…just kidding 🙂 I heard that the monsters and other creatures you see are from your imagination and from movies, books, etc.

      Liked by 2 people

      • oladb March 8, 2017 / 12:52 pm

        Thanks for sharing your thoughts. That does makes more sense; I’ve read a lot of books and watched many movies, so I guess there’s a variety of creatures stored in my memories for my brain to pick from to appear in my dreams.

        Liked by 1 person

      • arobakhan01 March 9, 2017 / 1:09 pm

        Now that’s actually comforting. Guess I just need a change of genre.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Ruuney March 8, 2017 / 5:31 pm

    I really liked this post as it was new and interesting. I don’t know if its just me, but I feel like I can control what happens in my dreams, and each night is a continuation of the night before. I found it fascinating to read the facts that you have added. I really enjoyed reading your post. I’m looking forward to your future posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • oladb March 8, 2017 / 5:35 pm

      Thank you for reading my post. That sounds really cool, being able to control your dreams. I’m usually aware that I’m dreaming, but only sometimes do I have a bit of control over what’s happening.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

