~Technology and Me~

Photo Credit: barnimages.com Flickr via Compfight cc

Like many others, I’ve always been very dependent on technology. I clearly remember spending a lot of time using electronics as a child. Although, back then I would mostly use it either to play online games, or to draw using the built in paint program.

Growing up, I found it more entertaining and satisfying to actually use utensils and physically draw on paper, so my use of technology decreased. The only reason I used a laptop or other devices was for educational purposes, like research and work.

Now though, I depend greatly on my phone and laptop to get me through the day. I mainly use my laptop to watch anime or do my homework, while my phone is used for everything else. I’m not one to text or call a lot however, in case that’s what you think I use my phone for.

If I was to break down what I use my phone for, it’d probably be something like: 10% music, 30% social media, 50% reading, and 10% non-internet uses. I really enjoy reading; it transports me into this beautiful imaginary world and takes my mind off everything worrying me. I find it much more convenient to read online rather than having to request a book, wait for it to arrive, then going to a library to pick it up. And you only have it temporarily, while online books you can reread anytime.

Anyway, I consider myself pretty good with technology- er most technology. This is my first time taking a proper technology class, and I’m quite excited for it. I may know enough, but I’m sure there’s a lot more that I don’t know about. Like when we started learning about Creative Commons the other day; it was my first time hearing about such a thing, which made me realize that this technology class will be useful.

The technology currently available is quite something. It’s amazing really, that we can search up basically anything we want and instantaneously get an answer for free. Same goes for communicating; with all these social media sites, it is very easy to connect with others worldwide, and to share your opinion with the rest of the online community. It’s hard to imagine school a few decades ago: you’d have to spend hours reading through books and newspapers just to get simple information for a school paper.

In this day and age, I doubt anyone would be able to survive a day without any form of technology; we have become so dependent on it that we may not even realize it. Also, technology is advancing rapidly, so a decade from now, the devices we currently have, including the latest iPhone, will all seem old fashioned and outdated.

Photo Credit: Diiesmiley Flickr via Compfight cc
Photo Credit: Diiesmiley Flickr via Compfight cc
2 thoughts on “~Technology and Me~

  1. ashleypmurray February 6, 2017 / 3:18 pm

    Great first post! I like that you broke down your time spent on your device into categories. One suggestion is to decrease the font size of your blog a little or to break up the writing a little more. There seems to be a lot of scrolling to have to read through your whole post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • oladb February 7, 2017 / 1:41 am

      Thanks for the feedback, I appreciate it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

